top of page

L is for Lisbon.


Q u o t e o f t h e d a y: "Everything has changed and yet I am more me than I've ever been." -- Iain Thomas

What's Happening

In true Milena fashion, I fell head over heels for Prague and then moved on quickly when the next best thing showed up. Lisbon is charming, beautiful, easy going and best of all, lives next to the ocean. It couldn't be more the opposite of Prague, but seriously, what more could a woman want? I'll tell you...nothing. Mom and dad -- I've finally met my match! Portugal has everything to offer, and it's closest to home.

So what really happened? I went on my first date with a surfboard and a very handsome instructor, I committed to bitoque and pasteis de nata at least twice a week, long Beach days until the 9PM sunset and no cheating on Portugal, not even once for a side trip out of the country. It was a month of pure happiness, drinking Vinho Verde and spending time with friends. The workload was a bit heavy and stressful at times, and I was confronted by the Portuguese flu, but like any good relationship it works itself out.

Why am I referencing Portugal as my future husband? Well, because it's the closest I've come to compatibility, a mutual connection, passion and attraction. Immediately upon arrival I felt the air by the sea, the sent of salt water under my nose and without knowing it, my smile was as big as the coach bus that took 12 of us to our new digs. Two six bedroom apartments set below the most popular neighborhoods in Lisbon, Bica and Bairro Alto, and a gym around the corner. I quickly learned that I was now part of the new series, The Real World international: Lisbon, and I loved it. Between having friends to chat with at all times, a quick walk to the work space and constantly staying active (even when I wasn't climbing the 9 hills of the city), I became the best version of myself. After all, isn't that what all us single folk are chasing for?

The Deets.

What to say when you eat at a Moroccan restaurant on a first date and you can't eat spicy food?

Sweat it out. The Festival of Santo Antonio by far was the stinkiest, most populous and best street festival experience I ever had. Although not the best to experience at the tail end of a stomach flu, I made it through to a good time. Through every neighborhood in the city and every hill that connected them, people opened their windows to the passersby selling beer, pastries, Ginganinja and Caipirinha. Once you round the corner, there's a few old men grilling sardines in the middle of the street and for three euros, you get a plate of five, head and bones included. Another amazing dessert that deserves mentioning; salami. No, I'm not talking about the cured meat, I'm talking about the dark chocolatey goodness with sweet bread pieces inside it that melts in your mouth as you bite it. Most of the time, this is being sold out the windows with the beer.

So what's this feast all about?

The Santo Antonio Festival takes place in Lisbon every year in June, usually the 12th and 13th of the month. It is a celebration of Portugal’s patron saint, Santo Antonio, to whom many miracles have been attributed. So on, and so on, I know that's not what you really care about. It looks like this.

So....

Before I conclude the month I had in Portugal, the place a piece of my heart will remain with the future husbands who I'll go back to find after the year ends, I thought I'd share a few things I discovered that made me realize this country and I were a perfect match.

Porto -- a beautiful city set along a river that reminds me a bit of the amalfi coast. There is wine tasting in caverns along the river and cute cities like Obidos to stop in along the way. Pair this with a group of friends, a few ukuleles, a club and tons of wine, it's sure to be a good time.

CaisCais beach days -- This is one of those beaches that you want to bring your family too. No seriously, ask my mom. An old cobblestone village with tiny streets set along the crystal blue coastline, with 9pm sunsets and sailboats taking the sea, there's no better image to keep in your memory than this.

Miradouro santa Catarina -- Miradouro is an overlook point, and there are tons in Lisbon. This one in particular was visited on a weekly basis, sometimes twice a week, and sometimes for more than just a sunset, but rather an attempt at a sunrise (if you call the sky being lit up a sunrise) with people who matter the most. Add an Aperal Sprtiz, a band of men with dreadlocks singing he Beatles and you are hooked.

Memmo alfama -- Have you ever worked from a hotel cafe? How about one on a rooftop? One with a pool? Overlooking the oldest neighborhood in Lisbon? Shall I keep going...

Lagos, Sagres and Troia -- When you are in need of some space, ready for girl time, and need a casual sighting of dolphins playing, these are the places to go. Be sure to watch out for the Portuguese Man of War though, they lurch. The southern most points of Portugal bring you the best beaches, caves to explore, amazing food, cheap resorts and villas and a lot of naked people. No seriously, the beaches are nude. If you want to escape those tan lines, here's where to do it.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page